Can somebody explain the role of Carbohydrates in the membrane to me ?

Watch
VeryNewMedic
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
My book says that the importance of carbohydrates in membranes is
a) Mediating the interactions of a cell with its environment.
b) Sorting membrane proteins to different cellular compartments.

I don't understand how it does the latter
RainThorn
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by VeryNewMedic)

May I ask what level of study you are at (GCSE or equiv, A level or equiv etc) just so I dont give you too much information?
VeryNewMedic
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
(Original post by RainThorn)
May I ask what level of study you are at (GCSE or equiv, A level or equiv etc) just so I dont give you too much information?
I am a 1st year med student and this is from my cytology class.
RainThorn
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
I am a 1st year med student and this is from my cytology class.
Ahhh gotcha, Im first year biomed so ill help the best I can but from the top of my head it is based on glycoproteins and glycolipids allowing adhesion relative to the fluid mosaic model. This allows compartmentation as well as fluidity.
macpatgh-Sheldon
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago

Hi,