My dream is to be a football manager but I know it's a long shot

Watch
itzztheman
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
As a kid, I really wanted to be a computer scientist. I loved to code and create programs. As I got older, I started playing sports, in particular football. Last year, I quit playing for my local Saturday league team (to start focusing on GCSEs; I'm in y10) but I took up refereeing games. However, I've really wanted to be a manager ever since I found the game Football Manager in Y7. I've bought it every 2 years since then, much to the dismay of my parents who want me to study instead of play games.

The thing is, even though I still want to be a computer scientist, I just want to be a manager more. Not to brag, but I think I could be one when I am older. I'm really good at predicting scorelines and I make a lot of (mental) notes when watching matches on TV. I went to an FA futures course in the half term and we ended up doing a tournament. Each team had to appoint a manager, and I got appointed. My team ended up winning the 4 team tournament, and it made me think about what opportunities I could get when I'm older.

I haven't told my parents about my dream yet simply because they'll probably just tell me to focus on other paths. However, I look at people like Jose Mourinho and just aim to reach that level.

I want to know if there are any opportunities for people like me. I always hope I can get chances like these, but the fact there are currently a very low amount of black managers in the game right now doesn't bode well for me. I hope that in the future I can be one of the first (not the first, hopefully someone will be there before me!) successful BAME managers in football.

To reiterate, I'm looking for opportunities in coaching or management for myself. I am 14 (15 in July) and would like to get info on how to get into the footballing world. Any help would be great. Thanks in advance.
Last edited by itzztheman; 3 weeks ago