Kribs
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
I want to apply for Law next year at Uni. I’ve been struggling to think of an idea for my EPQ topic because many of my ideas overlap with my subjects that I take. Therefore, every time I suggest something to my EPQ teacher she just rejects it and I haven’t been able to start.

I’m studying Alevels psychology, Sociology and Business.

I would appreciate if anyone could help
TSR Jessica
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
Sorry you've not had any responses about this. Are you sure you've posted in the right place? Here's a link to our subject forum which should help get you more responses if you post there.
hayzc
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
You just have to avoid overlapping your EPQ with your course content, so I would highly recommend going through the syllabus for each of your subjects and double-checking the topics that you cannot do.

First of all, just try to generate as many ideas as possible, and list them down somewhere (it doesn't matter if it doesn't directly link to Law, or if you think that it's not a 'good' idea, just list it). During this process, think about what interests you: what have you always wanted to find out or know more about? If you really cannot think of any ideas, watch a few lectures on YouTube about Law, or read a few books. (I would recommend 'What About Law?' or 'Justice: What's the Right Thing to Do?', or just find books on the reading lists for Law prospective applicants) Alternatively, go on the university websites, and look at course modules; see what interests you, what you can look into.

Examples off the top of my head include:
- Corporate Law (examining the ethics of business?)
- Use of regulations and their effects on the marginalised sectors of society (though this might veer into more of Economics and Politics)