Alexanderh
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 days ago
I want to apply for several funded PhDs this year. How do referees react to being asked to support several different PhDs (they are all in the same discipline very broadly... but are pretty different in terms subject matter) all at once? I have found that its hard enough getting them to support just one so I am worried about alienating them...

For some context: I got a masters from 5 years ago and am desperate to get back into academia/research. I have been working in the field of my discipline for 6 plus years. I have seen at least 4 PhDs that I would like to apply for and have applied for one already, and got my references. That leaves 3.

Are my potential referees likely to say: "oh he's just applying for everything... that's strange and unfocussed, I'm much less likely to support him" or "yeah sure! No problem!"?

Thanks!
Keele University
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 5 days ago
(Original post by Alexanderh)
I want to apply for several funded PhDs this year. How do referees react to being asked to support several different PhDs (they are all in the same discipline very broadly... but are pretty different in terms subject matter) all at once? I have found that its hard enough getting them to support just one so I am worried about alienating them...

For some context: I got a masters from 5 years ago and am desperate to get back into academia/research. I have been working in the field of my discipline for 6 plus years. I have seen at least 4 PhDs that I would like to apply for and have applied for one already, and got my references. That leaves 3.

Are my potential referees likely to say: "oh he's just applying for everything... that's strange and unfocussed, I'm much less likely to support him" or "yeah sure! No problem!"?

Thanks!
Hi Alexanderh!