Michael N.
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello everyone! I am currently a final year finance student at a Greek University, I have applied to study in the U.K. next year and I have received two tempting offers so far. One is for Msc Finance and Economics at LSE (where I had also applied for finance but was rejected) and the other is for Finance at Warwick University. However, I am uncertain as to which I should choose, because while I deeply appreciate LSE's stellar reputation (and it has always been my dream to study there!) along with the opportunities it offers its graduates, I worry that the subjects of Fin & Ec will be too quantitative for me and that I will not be able to keep up. Also, LSE mentions in its website that the programme is primarily addressed to students of a more quantitative background such as Maths and Physics, so I fear that fellow students will possess such a good level of maths that I will inevitably lag behind. I consider Warwick the "safer" option among the two because of my closer proximity to the offered subjects, but I am aware of its rankings compared to LSE. So, does LSE's Fin & Ec make that much of a difference carreerwise compared to Warwick's Fin? Also if you have knowledge of Fin &Ec, do you think that its subjects are so quantitative that it would be too tough for a finance student, who inevitably lacks the quantitative background of students in other fields to complete the programme (preferably with good grades)? Can one expect support while studying there (such as office hours, group studying etc)Many thanks in advance!
Waffles14
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hey,
Congratulations on the offers!
I am also applying for the coming fall and from what my research has shown, LSE's F&E is not that quantitative relatively speaking (as compared to courses like Imperial's MSc Finance which is highly quantitative).