How important are GCSE's and BTEC Level 3's when applying for a Masters?

Watch
JamieeDee
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 days ago
I graduated from Birkbeck University of London with a 1st class for my LLB and I am interested in applying to a better university for my Masters (UCL, KCL, LSE, etc) but my other qualifications aren't good at all.

My grades are:

GCSE's: ICT (B) Biology (C) English Language (C) Maths (C) Physics (D)

BTEC Level 3 (A Level Equivalent): ICT (Pass) Business Studies (Pass)

How important are GCSE's and A Level's when applying for a Masters?
Should I retake or take any new qualifications?
bennyj901
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 days ago
GCSEs are hardly relevant for your undergrad let alone Masters.... A levels are likely to receive some more attention however. The most important think will be your undergrad I would imagine
JamieeDee
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 days ago
(Original post by bennyj901)
GCSEs are hardly relevant for your undergrad let alone Masters.... A levels are likely to receive some more attention however. The most important think will be your undergrad I would imagine
Do you think I would benefit by taking some A Levels?
Advertisement
bennyj901
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 days ago
(Original post by JamieeDee)
Do you think I would benefit by taking some A Levels?
It depends who you ask. Some are of the view BTEC =/= A level and so may suggest you do, however I think if you have already done your undergrad, especially considering it was a 1st, it is pointless. You should be alright with what you have already.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
(Original post by JamieeDee)
I graduated from Birkbeck University of London with a 1st class for my LLB and I am interested in applying to a better university for my Masters (UCL, KCL, LSE, etc) but my other qualifications aren't good at all.

My grades are:

GCSE's: ICT (B) Biology (C) English Language (C) Maths (C) Physics (D)