Mental illness and the breaking down of family relations

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 5 days ago
I have been fighting with depression for the past 3 years now. In December to January things were very bad. My family weren't very supportive to the point that they said I have no mental illness and to stop using mental illness as an excuse for my behaviour.Since the New Years I haven't spoken to my aunt or my cousins even once. They haven't bothered making an effort to contact me so I don't want to reach out to them. I only spoken with my grandma twice because she had an operation. I used to be really close with my family we would talk more than once a week now our communication is nonexistent.

The fact that none of them bothered to reach out perhaps is a sign that they don't care to maintain any relations with me either. Part of me thinks I should just break all sort of contact with them and not bother. What we once had no longer is or perhaps we never had anything to begin with.
Analyst89
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 days ago
Break contact and cut them off if they aren't bothering with you.

You should see a doctor regarding your mental illness.
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 days ago
(Original post by Analyst89)
Break contact and cut them off if they aren't bothering with you.

You should see a doctor regarding your mental illness.
I am seeing a doctor about my mental illness.
StriderHort
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 days ago
Just a guess....but you glossed over 'My behviour', depending on what that is, there might be good/understandable cause for people keeping distance from you?