я люблю собак
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Heya, I hope you're all doing well and looking after yourselves, especially during this crazy time 😊

I would love to hear anyones opinion, ideas and advice on diffrent universities, as well as what to expect in terms of living and life style when staying in accommodations.

I'm in my final year of college studying childcare and I'm nearly all done for good. I was considering going to university to study courses relating to child care, or perhaps teaching but my partner at time time (who was older and had already finished uni) made a big deal out of not wanting to do a long distance relationship, and wanted me to just go straight into work after college so we could move out together. So I basically put my interest in looking for a uni aside and missed the deadline for finding and signing up for a course.

So after college I'll be taking a gap year to work and save up as well as finally pass my driving test (which was cancelled due to current world craziness, but we'll get there I'm sure!) I'm going to spend this time researching the right course and uni and I'd love any info or opinions regarding what to expect and look for. I dont have the best home/family situation so I'm very eager to move out and try living independently. Especially since I ended things with my previous partner and now have a much more supportive boyfriend who has no issue with me travelling away for uni.

Thanks for reading this far and for any support! 😊
Last edited by я люблю собак; 1 week ago
charlesjtwhite
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
My foremost advice is to attend open days. Get a proper feel for the campus and learn as much about the accommodation as possible. If they do halls tours, go on them. This is something I really didn't give enough thought to; I like my uni, but the campus just isn't for me and it's somewhere you'll be regularly for 3 years, so it's more important than people say imo.
hallamstudents