NunoAlberto
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Good afternoon,
I am a portuguese student and I have received offers from these unis to study Computer Science. The University of Bristol do not offer the opportunity to have a placement year, something that I would like to hear your opinion about. In adittion to this, I would like to hear your opinions about these unis and their respective cities, lifestyles and job prospects (mainly in the UK and other similar countries like USA, Australia and Canada). Thank you in advance.
Stef1234
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I have visited both Birmingham and Bristol, so I cannot really say anything on behalf of Nottingham. But I chose Bristol over Birmingham for a couple of reasons:

- I love old building and cities with a historic centre. Birmingham is quite a new industrial city. It has a couple of nice beautiful buildings but the city is not filled with them. While Bristol, certainly around the uni, has some very old cute English type buildings. Also the uni itself looks older. While Birmingham has more of an American state university feel to it with lots of modern facilities, Bristol kind of has a campus with mansions where smaller departments are placed and larger buildings for the libraries and bigger departments. Bristol also has the Wills Memorial building which is just beautiful and based on oxbridge architecture.

- I think that both universities are equally involved in student activities so there’s not really a big difference.

- You can walk from the University of Bristol to the city centre, while at the University of Birmingham that’s not possible, you have to take a 5 min train.

- it’s cheaper to live around the uni of Birmingham and it’s also easier to find accommodation (when you don’t get it through uni, but both uni’s provide housing for their first years).

- on international world rankings Bristol is higher ranked than Birmingham. But both are Russel Group uni’s, so very good uni’s.