Jehaulanauwowkw
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 days ago
Im a year 12 student taking Maths, physics, and music for A level. I would love to study engineering for my degree and am hoping to go to a Russel group uni (Durham, UCL, Edinburgh, maybe try for Cambridge). My predicted grades are A* A* A. However, I have only realised half way through the year that many unis strongly recommend taking further maths a level. Is there any hope in me applying? Is there anything I can do to show a strong interest in maths on my ucas? Am I to late to do further maths AS? Any advice would be much appreciated.
hustlr
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 2 days ago
(Original post by Jehaulanauwowkw)
Im a year 12 student taking Maths, physics, and music for A level. I would love to study engineering for my degree and am hoping to go to a Russel group uni (Durham, UCL, Edinburgh, maybe try for Cambridge). My predicted grades are A* A* A. However, I have only realised half way through the year that many unis strongly recommend taking further maths a level. Is there any hope in me applying? Is there anything I can do to show a strong interest in maths on my ucas? Am I to late to do further maths AS? Any advice would be much appreciated.
well yes you can still get into engineering, maths and physics are the essentials. further maths is maths but it has abit of degree content in it, so you would learn that on youre course in uni anyways, they only recommend it because it shows that youre more likely to succeed on the course
mnot
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 days ago
Yes you can still apply, unis dont require it they simply recommend it.

I would take further math AS if possible. (an engineering degree is lots of PDEs, multivariable calculus, matrix algebra and some more maths stuff, basically an applied maths degree so doing as much maths as possible is beneficial but A-level maths is the requirement).