emmageddon
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 day ago
Hello there,
I’m an American student applying to a few UK universities for postgraduate study. I was wondering if some current students (from any university) could tell me a little about what their Ancient History/Classics education looks like right now in terms of reading, testing, research, etc?
Thanks!
Edminzodo
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 hour ago
(Original post by emmageddon)
Hello there,
I’m an American student applying to a few UK universities for postgraduate study. I was wondering if some current students (from any university) could tell me a little about what their Ancient History/Classics education looks like right now in terms of reading, testing, research, etc?
Thanks!
Hi, I did Egyptology at Liverpool (which is in the same department as Ancient History and Classics). Ironically I am going to the US for postgrad, but I know a fair amount - what would you like to know specifically? What universities are you applying to?
emmageddon
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 hour ago
(Original post by Edminzodo)
Hi, I did Egyptology at Liverpool (which is in the same department as Ancient History and Classics). Ironically I am going to the US for postgrad, but I know a fair amount - what would you like to know specifically? What universities are you applying to?
Hey, I’m applying to Oxford, St Andrews and RHUL. As you probably know (because you’re applying to universities here) we use completely different terminology in the US as you do in the UK. Figuring out how the terminology here aligns with the terminology there can be quite confusing. (For instance I’m still not sure what Brits mean by ‘matriculation’. It’s a noun we hardly ever use here but at some UK schools it seems to imply some type of ceremony?) Also I’m interested in hearing about people’s experiences; how much they study, what classes are like for them, etc.