University Forcing Me Into Studying Something I Don't Like

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
So, my degree is Psychology. However, having to pick other classes, I went with Social Policy, Human Resource Management, and Education. The way it worked out was this:

SEMESTER 1:

Psychology,
HR,
Social Policy,
Education

SEMESTER 2:
Psychology,
HR,
Social Policy.

I thought this was a good way to get a explore subjects I haven't taken before, but ultimately my heart was on Education, as I'm studying to be a developmental psychologist. In order to take HR, I switched out the second Semester Education class - which was NOT theory, but a practical placement.

When it's come to picking my next year subjects, they're not letting me take Education as apparently that second semester class was compulsory.

It feels so pointless to be studying Social Policy or even HR as that's not the career I'm trying to get towards. What's the point of twisting your arm into studying subjects you're not interested in? This isn't school where we need to learn mathematics, even if they're boring. We're adult customers with (usually) specific career goals in mind.

To be fair, it's ultimately my own fault, and I've tried to fight my case to get back to choosing Education as a class, but they're really not for it. I think I'll just need to knuckle down. =\
username2940194
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
Could you talk to your advisor or programme lead? Thats not particularly fair really but i think for your degree to be accredited you have to have specific modules sometimes
StriderHort
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
(Original post by Anonymous)