Social mobility: does it exist? (case study)

Watch
IzzyOfThePeak
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
What social class is someone with working class grandparents and academics for parents, in your opinion? Do you have a story of social mobility in your family?
Last edited by IzzyOfThePeak; 7 months ago
IzzyOfThePeak
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hello,

This is a question I have sometimes casually asked myself when discussions about class, society and social mobility are taking place. I'm a student of history, so I love these kind of topics. Usually, face to face it can be a bit too sensitive to have these conversations - so here is a perfect place to ask the question...

What you think my class background is? If you like you can make a stab at what class you would call me!

Both parents went to university on generous grants, one attended grammar school, and both ended up working as academics (one with a PhD, the other is a professor). One grandfather was a coal miner, the other a tailor/ watch repairer (when he wasn't unemployed) and my grandmothers worked in library, nursery, factory and for the postal service. My step grandfather worked in a steel factory.

AMA if you like about my background!

NB. For purely academic purposes, I do not consider the labels of 'middle', 'upper' and 'working' class to have very much descriptive power in the present day - but I realise some people would disagree with this. I like Joyce's book (Class, 1995) about social possitionality, which suggests that if class has an economic origin then as the structure of the economy has changed modern and contemporary labels are now redundant. Nevertheless, there is clearly a cultural element to class that Joyce plays down (expressed very well in EP Thompson's classic book, The Making of the English Working Class).
CheeseIsVeg
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
(Original post by IzzyOfThePeak)
Hello,