Question about resits and credits

Watch this thread
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi guys,

So, I'm a student doing Biomedical Sciences at Newcastle University. Our course has a policy that you lose your honours degree if you fail more than 20 credits over stage 2 and stage 3 combined.

What I would like to ask is that if I have failed 30 credits in semester 1 but passed all of them during August resits, will I still be able to get the honours degree (as in do you get your credits if you pass via resit attempt)?

Would appreciate any answers ASAP as my anxiety is getting worse regarding this issue

Thanks a load guys!
999tigger
Badges: 19
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Hi guys,

So, I'm a student doing Biomedical Sciences at Newcastle University. Our course has a policy that you lose your honours degree if you fail more than 20 credits over stage 2 and stage 3 combined.

What I would like to ask is that if I have failed 30 credits in semester 1 but passed all of them during August resits, will I still be able to get the honours degree (as in do you get your credits if you pass via resit attempt)?

Would appreciate any answers ASAP as my anxiety is getting worse regarding this issue

Thanks a load guys!
You will have to read the rules, but I expect all it is saying is you need to have completed 240 credits and not 220 by the time you graduate to make a total of 360 when you add first year. If You get less than 340 you will just get an honours degree.

You can either read the rules to confirm
Ask registry or department to confirm
Someone will take the time to look it up.

If you know where it is, then link it or cut and past the paragraph.
Anonymous #1
(Original post by 999tigger)