How long should you spend in your first job?

Watch
This discussion is closed.
Distressed
Badges:
Report 17 years ago
How long should you spend in your first schoo if you really enjoy it, but are still ambitious. A job
has come up for 1 point and I am unsure whether to go for it. I am a maths teacher by the way.
Anybody got any ideas. This is my second year of teaching.
Stjohn
Badges:
Report 17 years ago
Distressed wrote in message ...
[q1]>How long should you spend in your first school if you really enjoy it, but are still ambitious.[/q1]

I would say three years in your first school is good - long enough for future employers not to raise
their eyebrows, long enough for you not to owe anything to your present headmaster (he'll probably
resent giving you a glowing reference if you were to move in the first year) and long enough for you
to know precisely what sort of school and in which direction you wish to move......should it be for
more responsibility, prestige, location, type of establishment (single sex, co-ed, boarding, public,
special, failing, inner city, rural, middle, high ranking, comprehensive, big, bigger, tiny, 16-form
entry, no sixth form).

Good luck, BTW

Singe (with two applications in and waiting for references to be taken - please!)
Vjc
Badges:
Report 17 years ago
"Distressed" <[email protected]> wrote this, suspiciously:

[q1]>How long should you spend in your first schoo if you really enjoy it, but are still ambitious. A[/q1]
[q1]>job has come up for 1 point and I am unsure whether to go for it. I am a maths teacher by the way.[/q1]
[q1]>Anybody got any ideas. This is my second year of teaching.[/q1]
[q1]>[/q1]

Children have a capacity for stability and loyalty that would amaze you ............. don't ever
apologise for being there for them. Stay in the great school you luckily found first time, and ask
them about promotional opportunities now or in the next few years.
--
Vanessa

Pave the planet: One world. One people. One slab of asphalt.