I am applying for an affiliated degree at Cambridge. Does the college matter?

Watch
P.G. W
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
I am an American student and I am about to graduate from college with a BA in history.
I unsuccessfully applied to do an affiliated degree in HSPS at Sidney Sussex. I now realized I should have applied for history.
It would a be a dream come true to read history at Christ's, but I realize that is more competitive. I saw that Downing accepts six out of its sixteen applicants, so I am thinking about applying there.
However, would I have more of a chance of being admitted if I were to apply to a mature college, or would it not matter due to the pool system?
redmeercat
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
The pool system should mean that all applicants are given equal chance regardless of college, although inevitably some candidates who would work well with cambridge will always be missed through human error... apply to the college you want to go to, and go from there Remember, it's about fitting with the uni and rejection isn't a judgement on your academic potential.
Plagioclase
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
(Original post by P.G. W)
I am an American student and I am about to graduate from college with a BA in history.
I unsuccessfully applied to do an affiliated degree in HSPS at Sidney Sussex. I now realized I should have applied for history.
It would a be a dream come true to read history at Christ's, but I realize that is more competitive. I saw that Downing accepts six out of its sixteen applicants, so I am thinking about applying there.
However, would I have more of a chance of being admitted if I were to apply to a mature college, or would it not matter due to the pool system?