The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

Credit transfer

I have made a query through OU to a Careers Advisor but I wonder if anyone could advise with regard to credit transfer. I am currently studying foreign languages with my first module Beginners Italian.
I have 60 credits from psychology modules I gained part-time from University of Kent. This were part of what used to exist called a Combined Certificate of Studies which was dispensed with half way through our course. OU said they should be transferable but I am just unsure as to when. I have the transcript ready for sending but I am doing 30 credits now (Beginner's Italian) and hope to get 30 more doing (Intermediate Italian) all Level 1 but I want to major in French. I want to take two modules in French (60 points), definitely including L112 (Intermediate French) and one other, so that I will be able to gain at least 60 points in French at each stage/level to ensure French is the main focus of my degree.
Should I transfer my credits therefore for Stage 2 and will all 60 previous points from 2009/10 be accepted if my focus has now changed from psychology?
I also have a query about the Exploring Languages and Cultures module L161 and if it is interesting or just feels like it's padding out the language study. For a main focus in a degree, I understand that you must gain 180 credits with at least 60 at each level.
Vocationally, I do feel that options may be limited with foreign languages as most positions must go to mother-tongue speakers, or younger students that have had the good fortune to study or work abroad as part of their course. Any recommendations for possible careers for older students who may not have had this but can read and translate pretty well? I am 54 and never particularly wanted to teach.
Sorry for the billion questions.
Kind regards Laura