Anneka1990
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Was just wondering if anyone had any revision techniques that work for them or are helpful for uni exams. At the moment I’m in first year and have only had multiple choice questions both last semester and this semesters mocks. My problem is that in all 3 of the real exams/mocks I have averaged around 40% whereas in written assignments or presentations I’m averaging in the 70’s/80’s. Clearly doing something wrong with the way I revise, any advice would be appreciated as our uni’s study skills doesn’t cover revision technique.
Last edited by Anneka1990; 6 months ago
Anneka1990
Rep:
?
(Original post by Anneka1990)
Was just wondering if anyone had any revision techniques that work for them or are helpful for uni exams. At the moment I’m in first year and have only had multiple choice questions both last semester and this semesters mocks. My problem is that in all 3 of the real exams/mocks I have averaged around 40% whereas in written assignments or presentations I’m averaging in the 70’s/80’s. Clearly doing something wrong with the way I revise, any advice would be appreciated as our uni’s study skills doesn’t cover revision techniques
Just realised I posted this is GCSE’s, sorry, not sure how to move!
UniofGreenwich
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
Hi
I found this hard as well at first

I think it’s important to also use seminar practice questions as a resource and have it checked so you can see what you’re doing wrong and how to improve.

My revision technique is very standard- I’m a law student so I just revise one topic at a time then make detailed notes, do more research around the topic to get an academic opinion (for a better understanding)

I pretty much use the revision techniques that I used at a-level which was mindmaps, highlighting key information, making notes and memorising.

The best thing for me while I revise is to do some practice questions and have my module leader look over them