Latin/Ancient Greek online tuition/help

Watch
Alexis Em
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello there. I'd like to offer (free) online help with the above subjects-as a way of doing my own revision and to give me some teaching practice. I'm a mature undergraduate with teaching qualifications and experience and I'm retraining in Classics.
dorotheapenguin
Badges: 10
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
Hi!

Thank you for offering help. My school doesn't do Latin so I am trying to teach it to myself and really struggling. I would be really grateful if you could give me some advice how to improve grammar.
Alexis Em
Badges: 4
Rep:
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by dorotheapenguin)
Hi!

Thank you for offering help. My school doesn't do Latin so I am trying to teach it to myself and really struggling. I would be really grateful if you could give me some advice how to improve grammar.
Hi! What books are you using? (Cambridge/Oxford LC, John Taylor’s Latin to GCSE or another course?) How far have you got? What do you find difficult about grammar? Without knowing this, I can only make general comments:

1.Take a small chunk of grammar at a time.
2.Try to understand what point is being made.
3.Learn any new endings.
4.Practise recognising the new material*
5. Apply what you now know by translating and checking your answers.

*(e.g. If endings for the Imperfect tense have been given, then look at the given example sentences, pick out the verbs, look at their endings, identify the person i.e. he/ you/they, then identify those that are in the Imperfect tense. If you have learnt only two tenses so far and the Imperfect is the third, then the process of elimination will also help you to arrive at the right answer.)