The Student Room Group

How do I stop procrastinating

I used to be a diligent student when I was younger. But in the last few years, my grades went down. I got really lazy and developed bad habits.
Now my grades are terrible. I set myself goals but I never have enough willpower. I always get distracted by other things.
I have no idea how to get back on track.
Reply 1
I understand it can be tough to build good study habits. I recommend building a daily routine that allows for a good amount of studying to be done without distractions. Find a few free hours during the day when you can just get studying done; I use the first few hours of the day as my brain is more fresh in the morning. Try and stick to this routine but take it step by step and build it up gradually. Trust me once you get into the routine, it becomes a lot easier to be productive. You just have to start.
Original post by scienceyyy
I used to be a diligent student when I was younger. But in the last few years, my grades went down. I got really lazy and developed bad habits.
Now my grades are terrible. I set myself goals but I never have enough willpower. I always get distracted by other things.

saaaaaaame :o:o:redface:
the prob for me is i do have idea but as above poster said it quite right ... need to step up with routine of revisions..:dumbells:
(edited 3 years ago)

Hi scienceyyy :hello:

Finding the motivation to study independently can be really difficult - especially when you're not used to it.

I would recommend trying to find some sort of structure for your study, including regular breaks. One point to remember is 'Study SMART Not Long'. It's much easier to implement a regular and successful study schedule if you are studying SMART.

SMART stands for:

o Set yourself goals.
o Make study techniques that promote greater results.
o Ask for help.
o Reward yourself for progress.
o Take a Break.