Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
Hi all,

I'm currently an ACCS anaesthetics trainee in CT1. I am not very interested in anaesthetics, but jumped into the program as it's known to be deliver good 1-1 consultant teaching etc and high satisfaction levels,

In hindsight, I should have explored my options looking into things like psychiatry and paediatrics via an FY3, which I have always found more interesting but was dissuaded against applying for them due to staff shortages etc.

I did not want to drop-out of the program just yet, as I need to see if these other specialities are actually for me, so is an OOPC an option to do this? I was also thinking of switching to GP training, so I could get 6m of psych and paeds with better pay than I would get if I did an F3/LAT post (I definitely do not want to be a GP however).

Thank you!
Democracy
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
Hi all,

I'm currently an ACCS anaesthetics trainee in CT1. I am not very interested in anaesthetics, but jumped into the program as it's known to be deliver good 1-1 consultant teaching etc and high satisfaction levels,

In hindsight, I should have explored my options looking into things like psychiatry and paediatrics via an FY3, which I have always found more interesting but was dissuaded against applying for them due to staff shortages etc.

I did not want to drop-out of the program just yet, as I need to see if these other specialities are actually for me, so is an OOPC an option to do this? I was also thinking of switching to GP training, so I could get 6m of psych and paeds with better pay than I would get if I did an F3/LAT post (I definitely do not want to be a GP however).

Thank you!