A Level English Lit - Journey’s End

Watch this thread
a.gulietta
Badges: 6
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi, I’m a year 12 student and despite coronavirus I still have to teach myself a lot of the content and revise all my subjects since my college is doing online mocks next week.

I’ve left it a bit late but does anybody know any videos or websites or revision guides for Journey’s End? So far I’ve only found a gcse revision guide since it’s apparently a gcse text for another exam board too and I own a ‘Great War literature’ one which isn’t that useful. Our lessons in class weren’t that great, we were just annotating extracts for 6 weeks so I don’t have any actual notes on characters or themes.

Personally I think this book was a really bad choice to study but there’s nothing I can do now as I want to study English lit at uni and I’m aiming for an A*, but any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated!
Englishteacher24
Badges: 10
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
I'm familiar with Journey's End. I have found very little online but the revision guides are useful as a starting point. I think most of the play can be studied with a detailed understanding of context e.g. the cause of WW1; military hierarchy and relationships between different personnel e.g. soldiers and officers; PTSD; Sherriff's own background and how he approached writing the play; other WWI writers e.g. Wilfred Owen etc. Journey's End is a great play to study - it's short and it's relatively easy to access in terms of language which should work in your favour in terms of revision.