accusedsfalsely
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
Hi,

I’m currently studying Civil Engineering and on track for a 2:2 in my final year. I want to apply for a PGCE in English.

I do want to apply for jobs in my sector but I want to be a teacher, I have a love for helping children succeed and feel like I’ll be a good teacher. I attained a C in English literature at A-Level. Unfortunately my home situation did not let me succeed in my academics as well as I wanted to four years ago, however I’ve learnt a lot and grown through what I’ve been through throughout the years.

Would this be possible?

Thank you for any help!
Reality Check
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
(Original post by accusedsfalsely)
Hi,

I’m currently studying Civil Engineering and on track for a 2:2 in my final year. I want to apply for a PGCE in English.

I do want to apply for jobs in my sector but I want to be a teacher, I have a love for helping children succeed and feel like I’ll be a good teacher. I attained a C in English literature at A-Level. Unfortunately my home situation did not let me succeed in my academics as well as I wanted to four years ago, however I’ve learnt a lot and grown through what I’ve been through throughout the years.

Would this be possible?

Thank you for any help!
Your username is a bit worrying for a prospective teacher...

Are you asking if you can become a teacher with a 2ii? If so, the answer, emphatically, is 'yes'! However, as your degree has nothing to do with the subject you want to teach, you'd need to do some sort of SKE course: you couldn't go straight into an English PGCE with a degree in civil engineering.

Do some research on SKE courses. Also, English is a competitive PGCE entry (cf. maths/physics) which makes it all the harder. Not wishing to put you off, but to be realistic and guide your research
Get into Teaching
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
(Original post by accusedsfalsely)
Hi,

Would this be possible?