Students and Universal Credit

Watch this thread
Billie-34
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I'm a older student who is hoping to be starting a access to higher education course this year. I'm currently in a relationship (partner works full time) and we get universal credit top up as I have 4 children.

Our relationship has been quiet on/off so I'm just wondering about the financial situation if we split during this course. My children are aged between 17 and 9 and I've read that I would be able to claim universal credit still but would I have to be seeking work if I was single on this course as I don't think I would be able to manage college/studying and managing the kids and working. I have suffered with depression in the past and the situation worries me.

Are there any students here who are a single parent to kids over 5 that don't work and are on a access to higher education course that can give any advice?
Lizzillo
Badges: 10
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
I'm a parent on a full time uni degree course and I get Student Finance and Universal Credit.

Apply for SF if you can, you'll get some money to help pay for the course and living expenses.

As for UC, you still qualify for it as a student and a parent. You don't have to look for work as they class education as a full time job. However, they class some SF grants/loans as take home pay, so the amount of UC is dependent on them. So you should only have to worry about studying and the kids. You'd only need a job if you have huge expenses.