The Student Room Group

Tips for studying when you're burnt out

I'm currently studying in preparation for taking up a Psychology course with OU. I suppose the current lockdown situation doesn't help, but I'm finding myself burning out, losing focus and concentration rather quickly throughout the day. I'll break it up but still find at a certain point in the day my motivation has gone completely - not just for studying but for anything productive in general.
Does anyone have any interesting tips to overcome this?
Original post by Shane_ism
I'm currently studying in preparation for taking up a Psychology course with OU. I suppose the current lockdown situation doesn't help, but I'm finding myself burning out, losing focus and concentration rather quickly throughout the day. I'll break it up but still find at a certain point in the day my motivation has gone completely - not just for studying but for anything productive in general.

Make your learning visual. What I mean is use a lot of flash cards and colourful sticky notes. Draw spider diagrams with colourful markers. Colour in pictures and diagrams. Look online to see different already made spider diagram. Shorten your notes into bullet points while listening to your favourite music.
Listen to the audio version of your book if possible. Watch YouTube. It helps with motivation. Good luck hun

Hi Shane_ism
I believe you have 2 issues:
Issue 1: You spend too much energy to focus on when studying. That's why you get sidetracked.
Issue 2: for whatever reason, you are in a phase where your body has a low level of energy: That's why you can't even do anything else.

Issue 1 You spend too much energy to focus when studying.

What is your strategy?
As usual, it always starts with right the mindset and approach:
Instead of tapping into your conscious focus, target unconscious focus.