The Student Room Group

Conservatoires

Any advice for apply for an undergrad as a soprano for Conservatoires such Royal College of Music, Royal Academy of Music and Guildhall.
Mainly personal statement, how to know if you’re good enough and interview help!!! Thank you:smile:
Are you able to have what's called a "consultation lesson" with a voice professor at one of these conservatoires? (Or one nearer to you if you are not anywhere near London.) That's the best way of finding out whether you're realistically "good enough" :yep:
Any tips of interviews? Such as when they ask you if you have any questions?
Original post by Operagirl2020
Any tips of interviews? Such as when they ask you if you have any questions?

I'm afraid it's a long time since I auditioned (2006!) and I'm a pianist, so I don't know what vocal auditions/interviews are like :ninja: Generally speaking though, if they ask if you have any questions, only ask one if you have a genuine/intelligent question! There's nothing worse than asking a question that is easily answered by the prospectus :eek:
Hi Operagirl2020,

I'm a classical bass-baritone about starting at Guildhall in September. It's tricky at the moment given the whole coronavirus situation but I'm happy to pass on information that helped me.