Watch
Volpe13
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
Good morning!
My name is Hayllen and I’m VERY confused. I’ll explain:
I studied the equivalent to A-levels in Spain and my grades are extremely bad, nowhere near to any university entry requirements. I did this 8 years ago and haven't touched an academic book since then.
I’ve been researching information about distance learning.
I know Open University doesn’t have specific entry requirements and I believe other unis ask for either A-levels or Access to HE-GCSE maths and English.
I really want to start studying again, but I’m unsure of where or how to start.
I signed up for an English course in my local college, took a level assessment and they told me my English is quite good and recommended me to do four classes and take the IELTS if I wanted to go to Uni. I was really excited to start but then lockdown started and everything stopped.
My ideas are:
-OU Access module (to get used to study again), followed by an OU Certificate of HE and maybe be able to access other university that way (I tried contacting Newcastle university to make sure they would accept the certificate but I’m still waiting for an answer).
-OU Access module, followed by a degree at OU.
-An Access to HE online course (I’m not sure which centre to choose), GCSE English and Maths and then apply to an university.
I’m not really interested in studying to have a career, it’s more of something I want to do because I love learning and I want to invest on myself, that’s why I thought OU was the right option for me, but at the same time, if I change my mind and DO want to make a career out of it, I want to make sure I didn’t waste my money on an university that won’t take me anywhere. I have this misconception of OU because they don’t require any qualifications to start a degree.