JingoStar
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Hi all,
In a few months I will be moving to Scotland from England and need some advice. After much searching on the internet I'm slightly bewildered by the differences between England and Scottish schools. I'm currently in my first year of sixth-form, studying Politics, History and Film. I hope to restart year 12 in Scotland, studying Politics.

How many courses is someone expected to take post-16 in a Scottish School?

Do Colleges exist in Scotland? If so, what are the important differences?

Are there any mandatory courses I'll have to take in Scotland?

Is there anything else I should know?
_Mia101
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
(Original post by JingoStar)
Hi all,
In a few months I will be moving to Scotland from England and need some advice. After much searching on the internet I'm slightly bewildered by the differences between England and Scottish schools. I'm currently in my first year of sixth-form, studying Politics, History and Film. I hope to restart year 12 in Scotland, studying Politics.

Firstly, Labrador99 will probably know more.

So in Scotland, most people do highers and advanced highers (the first in year 12 (S5) and the latter in year 13 (S6)). You don't need to do advanced highers to get into all Scottish unis but I believe some do require it. Essentially in S6 (year 13) you can either retake/ do more highers; do advanced highers or do volunteering. I don't think it is a compulsory year but if you plan on going to uni then it improves your chances of getting accepting i believe.

Also, if you want to go to uni in England then you almost always have to have Advanced Highers. In Scotland, it just means you are more likely to get an unconditional offer or may be offered to start in the second year if you want.

Most students take 5 highers (but its between 3-5, with 4 generally the minimum) and then may do 2/3 AHs in the subjects they like (or are needed for uni or whatever).