Preparing for university study, tips?

Watch
chloemh97
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
So i have been accepted into university for September 2020 start, i have been out of education for nearly 5 years. I am starting with a foundation degree to start with in Health and Social Care so its not too overwhelming. Has anyone got any tips for me to prepare for the work load e.g. reading materials? or how to prepare for assignment writing.
Anonymous #1
Report 1 year ago
Firstly, congrats on getting accepted.

I have 5 years' experience studying in higher education - not something to be gloat about.

Having drafted a guide for my classmates thinking of going to uni, these would be my main pointers:
1) Learn touch typing - it takes 10 hours to learn and you can do this online
2) Read up academic writing. I recommend reading How to Write Great Essays by Peter Levin
3) Brush up on how to use Microsoft Word, and possibly Excel and PowerPoint. If you need me to point out a list of topics to look into, let me know.
4) Most of the study in your first year would not be as intensive as your second and third. The degrees tend to be designed in a way where it teaches you the ropes of the course before it starts challenging you. I recommend briefly read some of the material from the recommended text they have in your unit outlines. You don't need to buy the textbooks unless you feel you need to - when I did my degrees, I spent a lot of time in the university library to get use to the swing of things.
Unfortunately, I did not do Health and Social care at uni, so I don't know any books I can specifically recommend you in this regard.
5) There is a method to academic reading, and it doesn't involve you reading everything - you learn to pick up the necessary and relevant material from the passages you read.