The Student Room Group

Does LSE / Oxbridge consider AS levels?

I am taking 3 A Levels and I would like to take an AS level (history) as another facilitating subject to increase the chances of getting accepted. Is it worth it though? I am studying business, geography and fine art.
(edited 3 years ago)
Reply 1
Facilitating subjects - the terminology is no longer used by its initial proponents, the Russell Group - were really just a list of subjects that may appear as required depending on your choice of course. They're not subjects that universities look at and go "phwoooaaar, look at that, this person's doing history"

So no it won't increase your chances, unless they've explicitly said that they prefer applicants to have history or that applicants offering history have a higher chance of getting an offer. What course is this for anyway?
(edited 3 years ago)
Sinnoh’s absolutely right - tbh, you’d be better off spending the time you’d need to focus on extra AS levels on revising for the 3 A levels you’re already doing, studying and practising for additional tests that Oxbridge may require and taking part in super curricular activities to develop your interest in the subject (which you could then also use in your personal statement).
I only recommend 4 A levels or an AS if you are genuinely interested in it. It's not worth it for the reasons BlueEyedGirl talks about. Sinnoh is right, especially after the A level reform. Many unis dont care for a level combinations anymore unless they are required. The only college at Cambridge that wants facilitating subjects is Trinity but you can still apply as long as you have 2 facilitating subjects; it's the same with LSE with their preferred subjects. You wont increase your chances of getting accepted with one AS unless it's recommend at Cambridge but wont do much if you arent doing well in it or in your other 3 A levels, if it was the case