The Student Room Group

Will a few bad irrelevant scores ruin my PPE Application to Oxford?

To clarify, I am a Canadian student.

I am highly interested in applying to Oxford next year: am currently in my grade 12 year, and would be applying for the 2021 September entrance this fall.

Oxford is a dream school for me (with PPE as my course) and since the Canadian model of education does not traditionally follow the Oxford application process model, I really wanted to take a gap year to maximize my chances and immerse myself in the study. All the guys think I'm crazy for taking one but haha you live by your own guidelines.

I currently have a 1550 SAT, with a 95 UW senior year average in all honours & AP courses and since my midterm, my marks have risen so I will have a 97 by the end of the year. I also have an 800 SAT II in Literature and by the time I apply, will have four 5s in APs. (I realize that the only “required” element for Canadian apps to Oxford is the average %, but I went to an accelerated school so APs were part of the curriculum regardless.)

I am very concerned because I realized that even though SAT II/AP scores are not mandatory for Canadians to take to apply to Oxford, if we have taken them we must submit them. Because I earlier applied to the US and took these tests way before I came to the conclusion I wanted to apply to Oxford (I took them rather young and quite before I realized I wanted to study social sciences, and when I really did not know much about reporting scores), so I did poorly on irrelevant SAT II subject tests and received three scores in the 600s. Since the US practices score choice, I was unconcerned with these results affecting my results but I am super worried now that since I must include them, Oxford will automatically discard my application / red flag it and not invite me for an interview regardless of other factors like TSA, my senior GPA, etc. I absolutely want to avoid this. I'll do anything to avoid that!