Coeliac Disease AMA

Watch
Stb1750
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
I have had Coeliac Disease and been gluten free for a short 19 months. Feel free to ask me anything about being Coeliac, the lifestyle changes, symptoms, diagnosis etc.
glassalice
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
This probably sounds like a really stupid question but would you get really ill immediately if you ate gluten?
How did you adapt to a gluten free diet and actually find things that you like eating?
FYI: I used to work in a shop so I know that even if a product says wheat free on its not necessarily gluten free.
Stb1750
Rep:
?
(Original post by glassalice)
This probably sounds like a really stupid question but would you get really ill immediately if you ate gluten?
How did you adapt to a gluten free diet and actually find things that you like eating?
FYI: I used to work in a shop so I know that even if a product says wheat free on its not necessarily gluten free.
Thanks for your questions!

1) It's far from a stupid question as everyone reacts differently. For me my reactions tend to happen in the evening with severe stomach pain. Others feel the effects more instantly. Others are known as 'silent coeliacs' and feel no physical symptoms. The lining of the gut is sensitive so even a breadcrumb can bring on symptoms and damage the intestine.