im.millie
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hi, I’m a British student hoping to apply to an American college next year and today I did an official practice SAT paper and scored 1180. I’ve never looked at a sample paper let alone studied for one before so I was wondering how good/bad my score was? I ask this as someone who literally has no idea about the importance(?) of SAT scores in America and until a few days ago had only heard about them when mentioned in movies.

If it’s important, the little sections, I got 700 in reading, writing and language combined and then 480 on math combined. I’m honestly surprised at how different the math syllabus I learnt is different from the SAT one or the SAT questions at least. I’m taking IB and I’m predicted (766 HL & A,A) if that changes anything?

But, to conclude, is 1180 a good SAT score? I tried reading documents online but I just confused myself 😅

Thanks for any help!!
SweetSummerx
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
https://blog.prepscholar.com/what-is...lent-sat-score

Have a look on this website. Looks like 700 is very good but your 480 could use some work.
RogerOxon
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by im.millie)
But, to conclude, is 1180 a good SAT score? I tried reading documents online but I just confused myself 😅
That depends on what you consider good. Your maths score is very low, so you should be able to improve that dramatically. For reference, Oxford requires a score of at least 1470.

See here for the 2019 percentiles. 1180 puts you in the 67-74th percentile range, so 26% - 33% of test takers will score higher than you.
im.millie
Rep:
?
(Original post by SweetSummerx)
https://blog.prepscholar.com/what-is...lent-sat-score

Have a look on this website. Looks like 700 is very good but your 480 could use some work.
Thank you so much this was very helpful!
im.millie
Rep:
?
(Original post by RogerOxon)