srasaily
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hi,
I am a first year undergrad student doing biomed science. I plan on applying for dentistry graduate entry in my second year. I don’t have The typical educational background. As in i did my school overseas so i have GCSE equivalents even tho I do have ENG and Maths GCSE done here in U.K. I also don’t have any A levels but hold a BTEC qualifications with DD grade. By the time I apply I will be 27. I am just worried that my overall background would hinder my application ? As it doesn’t show commitment to dentistry from the get go ?? Please feel free to give honest advice & opinions ! I’m all ears stay safe everyone
Dentalmentoruk
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by srasaily)
Hi,
I am a first year undergrad student doing biomed science. I plan on applying for dentistry graduate entry in my second year. I don’t have The typical educational background. As in i did my school overseas so i have GCSE equivalents even tho I do have ENG and Maths GCSE done here in U.K. I also don’t have any A levels but hold a BTEC qualifications with DD grade. By the time I apply I will be 27. I am just worried that my overall background would hinder my application ? As it doesn’t show commitment to dentistry from the get go ?? Please feel free to give honest advice & opinions ! I’m all ears stay safe everyone
Hi,

If I were you, my priority would be to ring up the graduate entry dental schools and check whether I could meet their minimum requirements. They can verify whether your academics would hinder your application. UCLan and Aberdeen need you to have a 2:1 minimum alongside certain GCSE's whereas KCL can accept a 2:2 if you also have a masters with a merit.
This would require you to finish your current degree
srasaily
Rep:
?
Hi
Thanks for your reply