trasool
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi everyone,

Its my first Assistant Psychologist interview next week and I am very nervous. It is being done online with a panel of judges. I have been given a task to complete and make a powerpoint but I keep re doing it and keep doubting my answers.
I do not know if any of you have had similar task to complete in your interviews?
I have to prepare a 10 minute power point presentation on how i would plan my assessment and intervention with Anita based on the referral. I have to offer Psychotherapy to help with her anxiety and depression. A lady who lost her husband 5 years ago and is not anxious, does not like being around other people especially crowded places and suffered a number of panic attacks as a consequence.
Any advice would be much appreciated.
Noodlzzz
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Ok not an AP, but I did my MSc in clinical psych so might be able to offer some help!:

Perhaps think about the different psychotherapies? They're not a one size fits all.
Perhaps reflect on the referral process and what that means for the client. For example a self-referral may be handled differently than say from a CMHT.
Also reflect on the diagnosis or symptom cluster that would effect the type of therapy offered, make sure these are evidence based (such as EMDR not being validated for PTSD)
Make sure your approach is client focused - do they want intervention? What are their goals and expectations of treatment interventions?
Perhaps also think about the issues that could arise - ethical issues, perhaps they disclose abuse, or dual diagnosis criteria?
Also maybe a holistic view with some mention towards family support and how that can affect the client and their intervention
trasool
Rep:
?
(Original post by Noodlzzz)
Ok not an AP, but I did my MSc in clinical psych so might be able to offer some help!:

Perhaps think about the different psychotherapies? They're not a one size fits all.