guynextdoor
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 months ago
Hi everyone, I am quite new to TSR forums. I have been asked to sit for GCSE Maths equivalency testing for getting A-C for my PGCE course. Considering I'm a mature student and maths is something I categorically hate lol, any idea on how to pass this? what books or revision materials to use? Many thanks for your help.
Get into Teaching
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 10 months ago
(Original post by guynextdoor)
Hi everyone, I am quite new to TSR forums. I have been asked to sit for GCSE Maths equivalency testing for getting A-C for my PGCE course. Considering I'm a mature student and maths is something I categorically hate lol, any idea on how to pass this? what books or revision materials to use? Many thanks for your help.
Hi guynextdoor,
first of all, you need to have the syllabus of the course so you can focus your revision. Most equivalency testing companies have it on their website- if it is an equivalency testing done by a university- I am sure they will provide you with the syllabus for the course. You could use the BBC GCSE Bitesize website to support your revision and I would get a GCSE Maths revision guide. Many equivalency testing companies sell their own support pack, as well but it might be a pricier option. It might be a good idea for practice to do a few sample papers- you could also do some GCSE Maths papers from any GCSE boards (AQA, Pearsons, OCR, WJEC). The past papers and mark-schemes are available for free on their website.
I hope this helps.

Laure
guynextdoor
Rep:
?
(Original post by Get into Teaching)
Hi guynextdoor,