UniofReadingPG
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi Everyone,

I am a postgraduate student who currently lives in a postgraduate flat in Bridges Hall on the main (and very beautiful) Whiteknights Campus.

If anyone has any questions about accommodation at the University of Reading, please just ask. Particularly postgraduate applicants, who may be unsure about living in halls.

Have a good day!

Ed

MSc Psychology (Conversion) student
EmeraldSky
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by UniofReadingPG)
Hi Everyone,

I am a postgraduate student who currently lives in a postgraduate flat in Bridges Hall on the main (and very beautiful) Whiteknights Campus.

If anyone has any questions about accommodation at the University of Reading, please just ask. Particularly postgraduate applicants, who may be unsure about living in halls.

Have a good day!

Ed

Hello,

I will be coming to the University of Reading in September 2020 to do a PhD (I've already achieved the required grades to confirm my place). I've applied for accommodation in Halls but I'm still waiting to find out which specific Hall I've been allocated to (Bridges, St Georges or Childs/Stenton/Mackinder).

I have some questions about postgraduate accommodation:

1) On the accommodation website it says that they try to put postgraduate students together where possible. Do they distinguish between new Masters students (eg with 1 year projects) and new PhD students (eg with 3 year projects) or are they both just classed as 'postgraduates' and put together?

2) I know that all new students can live in Halls for the 1st year of their course. The accommodation website says that approximately 30% of rooms are kept for 'returner' students who want to live in halls during their 2nd year or 3rd year. Are these 'returner' rooms just for undergraduates or do some postgraduates also live in Halls for more than one year?