chibibotto
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Hola! I'm a year 12 Spanish student and the film my school has chosen to teach is Volver.
I am practising my essay writing and was looking at the question, "¿Como se presenta solidaridad femenina en la película Volver?" (How is female solidarity presented in Volver?)
If anyone can help me come up with some good, strong points I would be grateful!

Thanks!
Last edited by chibibotto; 6 months ago
becausethenight
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
Do you mean mujer instead of muerte? The presentation of death would be quite a different essay question :lol:
chibibotto
Rep:
?
(Original post by becausethenight)
Do you mean mujer instead of muerte? The presentation of death would be quite a different essay question :lol:
Oopsie, yes I did mean mujer! Well, female solidarity anyway haha
I just finished an essay on death and must've gotten confused 😂
Last edited by chibibotto; 6 months ago
becausethenight
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
(Original post by chibibotto)
Oopsie, yes I did mean mujer! Well, female solidarity anyway haha
I just finished an essay on death and must've gotten confused 😂
Hahaha I was wondering as both make sense for Volver 😂
Spanishstarfish
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
Just did this essay! How strange😂
Have you already seen Volver? It’s a great film.
I talked about the how the difference between rural/ urban environment affected the solidarity. In the city, Raimunda has her sister look after her daughter, and enlists Regina to help bury paco even though she isn’t legally documented.
However, the way the way the women all unite admits death highlights a solidarity that goes beyond generations, and beyond immediate family. There seems a mutual understanding of what women must do to survive in their world.
I also discussed how solidarity provides a safety net for the women. Perhaps this can be seen as selfish.