The Student Room Group

A level advice

Do any a level students have advice that they’d give to someone just starting sixth form ?

Scroll to see replies

I'm an A level student and what advice are you looking for like, specifically?
Original post by PetitePanda
I'm an A level student and what advice are you looking for like, specifically?

Academic advice, how to keep up with work and not waste your time
Original post by meganthompsonxx

Take this from someone who had to resit his. I got AAC maths econ and physics respectively the first time. DO NOT let your GCSEs inflate your ego. A levels are so much harder. Use ur free periods wisely and if you miss any lessons make sure you catch up asap. The way to do really well is to understand ur first-year content to the t. Second-year builds heavily on the first year. Some times however the way the teacher recommends you revise is not always the best so find ur own way. Also, biggest thing, do not travel too long for the sixth form if you can avoid it.
Reply 4
most important thing I would say is: don't waste year 12! I did as I thought it didn't matter much and didn't really know how to study as well as some family issues and it caused so many problems

also study regularly by making notes or something not just for exams

I would also say the post above me is similar and GREAT advice
(edited 3 years ago)
Original post by yadunnooooo
Take this from someone who had to resit his. I got AAC maths econ and physics respectively the first time. DO NOT let your GCSEs inflate your ego. A levels are so much harder. Use ur free periods wisely and if you miss any lessons make sure you catch up asap. The way to do really well is to understand ur first-year content to the t. Second-year builds heavily on the first year. Some times however the way the teacher recommends you revise is not always the best so find ur own way. Also, biggest thing, do not travel too long for the sixth form if you can avoid it.

Thank you so much!