gomp
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
There seemed to be some interest on the official postgrad 2020 thread (https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/sho....php?t=6182062), so starting this one.

I will be on the MSc ML in Sept. My background is - graduated some years ago, been working as a software developer for a few years in finance and related fields. Did thesis on ML related topic but as this was some years ago, the field wasn't so developed.
Anonymous #1
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by gomp)
There seemed to be some interest on the official postgrad 2020 thread (https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/sho....php?t=6182062), so starting this one.

I will be on the MSc ML in Sept. My background is - graduated some years ago, been working as a software developer for a few years in finance and related fields. Did thesis on ML related topic but as this was some years ago, the field wasn't so developed.
Hi! I'm also starting MSc in ML and interested in finance/trading stuff. What made you apply for a master's degree when you already have a job in the related field? Also may I ask what sort of electives you are thinking of?
gomp
Rep:
?
(Original post by Anonymous)
Hi! I'm also starting MSc in ML and interested in finance/trading stuff. What made you apply for a master's degree when you already have a job in the related field? Also may I ask what sort of electives you are thinking of?
I have always been interested in ML. I'm not necessarily thinking of returning to finance- there are many fields in which ML is applicable. I've considered life sciences for various reasons.

Probably easier to list the electives I am not interested in... if I look at https://www.ucl.ac.uk/computer-scien...e-learning-msc - The ones I am not really interested in are

Affective Computing and Human-Robot Interaction
Robot Vision and Navigation
Robotic Systems Engineering
gomp
Rep:
?