Moving schools in Year 11 and changing some of my GCSEs - Urgent!!

Watch this thread
LittleJenny13
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello Everyone!

I am currently in Year 10 and I am considering moving school next year. The school I'm moving to has most of the GCSEs with the same exam boards, so I don't think moving will be too much of an issue.

However, for Geography, their exam board is AQA, while the one I'm currently studying Edexcel. Will this be an issue? Is it easy to transition between the two? Can anyone offer any advice for studying and preparing for Geography AQA? Will the fieldwork be different?

Also, at the new school, they also offer subjects like Media studies and Psychology which I've always wanted to do, but my school never offered. If I pick up these subjects in Year 11, will it be tough catching up over the summer? Would I be able to handle it - or will it affect my GCSE grades negatively?

Should I not pick up any GCSEs at all? Even though I'm very passionate about them?

Any advice would be much appreciated, as I'm kinda freaking out.
Yazomi
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
I’m not sure about the other subjects since I didn’t choose them but I can help you for Aqa geography if you want
average_human
Badges: 15
Rep:
Report 1 year ago
If you're passionate about the subjects, then go for it!
LittleJenny13
Rep:
(Original post by Yazomi)
I’m not sure about the other subjects since I didn’t choose them but I can help you for Aqa geography if you want
That means so much to me!! Any general advice/resources you have would be amazing. Thank you
LittleJenny13
Rep:
(Original post by average_human)
If you're passionate about the subjects, then go for it!
But what if I fall flat on my face?