*Ask a serving British Army Officer anything*

Watch
ice0blue0eyes
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi guys, I’m a serving British Army Officer within the Infantry. I am currently a Captain and have carried out roles as a Platoon Commander, Company Second in Command, Instructor in Soldier Basic Training and Intelligence.

I am here to answer any questions you may have about the Army. Please ask away.

Disclaimer: I am not an official British Army account and wish to remain anonymous. I used this site when I was going through my A levels and I know how useful it is so I thought I could return the favour.
becausethenight
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Why did you decide to enlist?
Stallion2020
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Can a BAME over 30 enlist as an officer?
AlwaysTotoro
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
How intensive is the training when becoming a British Army Officer? Is it excessively mentally and physically exhausted? And what's the advantage part and the disavantage part of becoming a British Army Officer?
Drewski
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Stallion2020)
"The standard route to a commission as a Regular officer.

You should be between 17 years, 9 months and 28 years, 11 months to apply. Older applicants need to be sponsored to join."

You can check these kinds of things yourself on the Army careers site...
ice0blue0eyes
Rep:
?
The age limit to enlist as an Officer is 29 and as long as you are a British Citizen it doesn’t matter what your ethnicity, gender, religion, orientation or background.

To join as a soldier the age limit is a little bit higher- 36 I believe so if you are set on joining the Army then the soldier route is a hugely rewarding career also!
ice0blue0eyes
Rep:
?
(Original post by becausethenight)
Why did you decide to enlist?