Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm an international student and looking for a University to study Physics in. Nightlife is unimportant whatsoever, between Durham and Lancaster, which university is a better option, purely academical.
username3539714
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I'm going to Lancaster this year but in terms of being purely academical, I've heard Durham are right up there
username5152584
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Durham is a member of the Russel group which is group of the best Universities in the UK. So Durham will be much better academically!
stereotypeasian
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Newyorkiscool)
Durham is a member of the Russel group which is group of the best Universities in the UK. So Durham will be much better academically!
that's not the definition of Russell Group.....
Anonymous #1
I ultimately plan on going to grad school at Oxbridge, or at least hope to. Would being at Durham make that process a bit easier, provided I get the necessary grades?
username5152584
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by stereotypeasian)
that's not the definition of Russell Group.....
Does it not contain some of the best universities in the country? Because last time I checked Cambridge, Oxford, Durham, Newcastle, Leeds, York etc are all fantastic unis.
Anonymous #2
Report 1 year ago
Durham for sure. Much more academically prestigious. Lancaster felt like a prison to me when I visited and a large amount of students are pushed into going due to the obscene amount of unconditional offers given out at Lancaster (I got one but didn’t accept).
You’d be silly to chose Lancaster over Durham.
username4952880
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
I'm an international student and looking for a University to study Physics in. Nightlife is unimportant whatsoever, between Durham and Lancaster, which university is a better option, purely academical.
Choose Durham is higher in rankings.