Want more information about this university?
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Hey :bl:

I was wondering if any past or current Sheffield University students could advise on what parking at sheffield campus is like?

Either on the main campus or by cathedral court (psychology).

I am a disabled student with a blue badge and am slightly worried about the new academic year as I will be commuting into university, but will struggle to walk any reasonable distance or afford to pay parking at the public car park. And if I can't park, then i will potentially struggle hugely to attend. Is it worth turning up particularly early? Are there any areas were there are more disabled spaces or may be easier to park?
Walking from the union area to psych building will also be hugely difficult but if theres no parking near cathedral court its something I will obviously have to attempt to work around. TIA
Katie986
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Hello! I'm not sure I'm going to be able to help 100% but here goes.. There isn't a lot of parking around main campus for general use, a lot of it is permit holders only for staff or pay and display after certain hours apart from a main car park which would get expensive. As Cathedral Court is more in the city centre you're probably going to come across city or privately-owned car parks there. I'd recommend getting in touch with the council about any blue badge parking permits they may have, and student services/ disability and dyslexia support services at the uni to see if there's anything they can do about a parking permit for you, though if you can do this it might be worth coming in in good time as the car parks are normally quite crowded.

If you're able to get parking at the university campus, I'm fairly sure there's a bus you can get from nearby the campus to fairly close to cathedral court if that makes it a bit easier?

Sorry that this is kinda vague!
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 5 months ago