JSaintUK
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hi guys, I am currently in my second year at university in the UK. I have been thinking about applying to do a masters in north America and was wondering if there was anyone who had done the same. Im worried that the finances part of it are going to be too much because in the Uk my loan covers tuition and a chunk of my maintenance. I know about scholarships but is there any guarantee you would get one seeing as you have to apply to unis first (which without a scholarship i couldn't afford) and how likely is it it would cover most of the costs.
jger_rams2019
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by JSaintUK)
Hi guys, I am currently in my second year at university in the UK. I have been thinking about applying to do a masters in north America and was wondering if there was anyone who had done the same. Im worried that the finances part of it are going to be too much because in the Uk my loan covers tuition and a chunk of my maintenance. I know about scholarships but is there any guarantee you would get one seeing as you have to apply to unis first (which without a scholarship i couldn't afford) and how likely is it it would cover most of the costs.
Hi there,

There is no doubt that the U.S. universities are expensive, but there is a longer tradition of providing scholarships here since it tends to cost more money than our global counterparts. I would first suggest looking into the various Fulbright scholarships, as applying for those could give you the peace of mind of having scholarships before leaving the UK.

http://www.fulbright.org.uk/going-to...ards-available