Esimm03
Badges: 13
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,
I've recently been thinking a lot about what I want to do career-wise, and I have developed an interest in geology, it looks really good, and I really like the jobs it leads into, and I think it is what I would like to do for my degree, However, When I started sixth form, I wanted to go down the politics/history route, thus chose subjects tailored around that. I'm currently studying Geography, History and English lit, alongside an EPQ on the topic of the Chinese Government's handling of SARS. Most Geology courses that I find online require two science subjects, and I only have one.

Could anyone recommend any courses I could look into that require one or no science subjects to study geology, without a foundation year? The grades I am aiming for are AAAB (A in English, geog, and epq, and a B in history)

And is there anything I can do to demonstrate an adequate interest in the subject, that might help my uni application? (I'm thinking about applying to become a Junior Candidate fellow of the Royal Geological Society, alongside MOOCs on fundamental Geology)

Finally, What's the difference between earth sciences and Geology? from what I gather Earth sciences also include the atmosphere, oceans, and processes under the surface, whereas geology focuses primarily on rocks? I'm thinking of going onto planetary geology, so would Earth sciences also be a possible entry into that field?

Sorry if this post is a little all over the place!

Thanks,
Ethan
Headingtonian
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
Hi Ethan,