morningrise
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi, I'm a student from South Korea studying for A levels in the UK. I'm currently in year 12, studying Art, History of Art, and Philosophy. I'm planning to study Fine Art at uni. My current plan is to apply to the following universities:

1. Oxford (Fine Art)
2. CSM (Fine Art)
3. Chelsea (Fine Art)
4. Goldsmiths (Fine Art)
5. Reading (Art and Philosophy)

Q1. Any thoughts on this list? (The reason I put in Reading is for insurance but also because they are one of the few unis that offer Philosophy along with Art.)

Q2. My main confusion is whether I should do a foundation year or not. A further complication is that, according to my art teacher, probably only the foundation courses that are integrated into a degree (as year 0 or something) will be possible, due to visa problems as an international student. How realistic is it to get into the unis above without a foundation year?

Q3. As for my skills, I often hear from my art teachers that I've got great concepts but need to improve observational drawing. I prefer more abstract, conceptual, and philosophical side of art, and I heard from one of my teachers that Goldsmiths might suit me because of this. I'm also academically strong and usually get predicted A or A* in the reports. What do you think? Which art college do you think would be the best for me (if I can get into them of course)?

Q4. My art teacher says that Slade School of Art in UCL is about 5 times harder to get into than Oxbridge. I didn't put it on my list because of that. To what extent is this true?