Yr 12 Student seriously behind stressing out, need help

Watch
RandomStudent786
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hi i am a year 12 student and due to the stress of year 11 i became addicted to a video game which helped me ignore all of my work and responsibilities, somehow i managed to get really good grades at the end of year 11 and then for year 12 i went to a prestigous grammar school full of smart individuals. I however, continued to slack off and continued to play the game and didn't realise that unlike GCSEs it wasn't possible to just do work at school, i eneded up missing a lot of school as i wasn't going in whenever there was a test, for the past 4 months of quarantine i haven't done anywork, and i remeber close to none, luckily the yr 12 exams have been moved to mid september but i only have 3 months now to learn a whole years worth of work, instead of facing it, every time i seem to go back into the cycle of not doing work, playing games, regretting it and stressing out. I brokedown last night after finally facing it because i wanted to do Medicine and right now i don't even know if i can get into a Uni for any Course, I am taking 4 A-levels, Maths Chem, Bio, Physics. And to learn everything in 3 months thoroughly doesn't seem possible to me, i can't retake the year it is way too embarassing and i don't think it is even possible in the first place, i need advice / help on what to do urgently.
absolutelysprout
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
you can retake the year. plenty of people do so without fear of embarrassment. you need to get rid of gaming entirely though if you don't want a repeat of what's happened this year. some medical schools will accept resits, some won't unless you have extenuating circumstances so you need to do your research. talk to your HoY about it. or you can knuckle down now and work through the content, but you'll need to be studying intensively and have a plan in place to cover all the content.