Grammar School vs State School for sixthform

Watch
Anxka_x
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hey,
I am currently in a difficult position, as I have been going to state school (Woodbridge High School) since year 7 (I am now in year 11 and am going into year 12) and I have been offered a position in an all girls grammar school for sixth form (Woodford County High School). My grades are above avg. but they aren’t excellent. I have heard a lot of things about grammar schools, like you have to do a lot of self learning. I am scared that as I am coming from a state school I would already be behind and also because I am not very good at learning things myself, I wouldn’t be able to keep up the speed at which we would learn in a grammar school.

Also, due to COVID-19 I haven’t actually had the opportunity to go and see the school or meet the teachers so I don’t know how comfortable the environment will be. The school only takes 50 new applicants for 6th form, so most people would’ve been there since yr 7 so I don’t know how likely I am to make new friends.

WCHS (the grammar school) has had significantly better results than my current school (WHS), but I am comfortable with my teachers at my current school as well as the people that are there.

I think I would be really helpful to hear the perspectives of people who have made a similar shift (from state to grammar) or people who go to grammar schools on the environment around the school and the learning.

I am struggling to decide if I should stay where I am (in my comfort zone) or take the risk.
glowing_starfish
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago