The Student Room Group

A levels for an Oxbridge english degree

Hi, i am in year 11 and have applied to take biology, chemistry, English lit and art for a levels. However i want to do an English degree at Oxbridge, are my subject choices too irrelevant and will this damage my choices. should i take geography or re instead of art. i was hoping current Oxbridge English students could help? thank you loads it been really stressful!
You should be fine.
But try to do an extra essay based subject instead of Art so you are more prepared
I studied English at Cambridge and did English Lit, German, Politics, Geography, Critical Thinking, and EPQ for A-Level. Your choices are definitely unconventional - most students there had done predominantly essay subjects. It's not so much the content (nothing I did outside of English Lit and German was relevant to my degree) but the thinking and essay-writing skills which are useful; there's a big difference between a STEM essay and a humanities essay so while Geography is going to help you more than Bio/Chem, it's not as relevant as RS/History/Philosophy/etc.
Reply 3
Original post by Parliament
I studied English at Cambridge and did English Lit, German, Politics, Geography, Critical Thinking, and EPQ for A-Level. Your choices are definitely unconventional - most students there had done predominantly essay subjects. It's not so much the content (nothing I did outside of English Lit and German was relevant to my degree) but the thinking and essay-writing skills which are useful; there's a big difference between a STEM essay and a humanities essay so while Geography is going to help you more than Bio/Chem, it's not as relevant as RS/History/Philosophy/etc.

Hi, thanks that's really helpfull, do you think classic civilisations would work?